

Proceedings of the Meeting of the Leeds City Council held Civic Hall, Leeds on Thursday, 21st May, 2015

PRESENT: The Lord Mayor Councillor David Congreve in the Chair.

WARD WARD

ADEL & WHARFEDALE CALVERLEY & FARSLEY

Caroline Anderson Amanda Carter
Billy Flynn Andrew Carter
Barry John Anderson Rod Wood

ALWOODLEY CHAPEL ALLERTON

Dan Cohen Mohammed Rafique
Peter Mervyn Harrand Jane Dowson
Neil Alan Buckley Eileen Taylor

ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD CITY & HUNSLET

Jack DunnPatrick DaveyLisa MulherinMohammed IqbalKaren RenshawElizabeth Nash

ARMLEY CROSS GATES & WHINMOOR

James McKennaPauleen GrahameAlice SmartPeter John GruenAlison Natalie Kay LoweDebra Coupar

BEESTON & HOLBECK FARNLEY & WORTLEY

Adam Ogilvie Ann Blackburn
David Congreve Terry Wilford
Angela Gabriel David Blackburn

BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON

Julie HeselwoodMark DobsonKevin RitchieStuart McKennaCaroline GruenAndrea McKenna

BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL GIPTON & HAREHILLS

Asghar Khan Arif Hussain
Ron Grahame Kamila Maqsood
Maureen Ingham Roger Harington

GUISELEY & RAWDON

Paul John Spencer Wadsworth Pat Latty Graham Latty

HAREWOOD

Rachael Procter Matthew Robinson Ann Castle

HEADINGLEY

Neil Walshaw Jonathon Pryor Janette Walker

HORSFORTH

Dawn Collins Brian Cleasby Christopher Townsley

HYDE PARK & WOODHOUSE

Gerry Harper Javaid Akhtar Christine Denise Towler

KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT

Catherine Dobson Brian Michael Selby Graham Hyde

KIPPAX & METHLEY

James Lewis Keith Ivor Wakefield Mary Elizabeth Harland

KIRKSTALL

John Anthony Illingworth Fiona Venner Lucinda Joy Yeadon

MIDDLETON PARK

Judith Blake Kim Groves Paul Anthony Truswell

MOORTOWN

Rebecca Charlwood Sharon Hamilton Alex Sobel

MORLEY NORTH

Robert Gettings Thomas Leadley Robert Finnigan

MORLEY SOUTH

Neil Dawson Shirley Varley Judith Elliott

OTLEY & YEADON

Colin Campbell Ryk Downes Sandy Edward Charles Lay

PUDSEY

Richard Alwyn Lewis Mick Coulson Josephine Patricia Jarosz

ROTHWELL

Karen Bruce Barry Stewart Golton David Nagle ROUNDHAY

Christine Macniven Ghulam Hussain Bill Urry

TEMPLE NEWSAM

Helen Hayden Michael Lyons Judith Cummins

WEETWOOD

Susan Bentley Judith Mara Chapman Jonathan Bentley

WETHERBY

Alan James Lamb John Michael Procter Gerald Wilkinson

1 Opening Remarks

- a) The Lord Mayor reminded all those present that the Annual Meeting was to be webcast
- b) The Lord Mayor welcomed the newly elected Members to their first meeting of Council.
- c) The Lord Mayor passed on his thanks to the retiring Leader of Council Councillor Keith Wakefield and his congratulations to Councillor Judith Blake as Leader elect.
- d) The Lord Mayor reported he had attended the recent candle lighting ceremony in respect of recent events in Nepal.

2 Issue of Papers for the Meeting

The Lord Mayor indicated that, following the dispatch of the Summons with accompanying reports on Wednesday 13th May 2015, further papers originally identified on the Summons as to follow were circulated to Members on Wednesday 20th May 2015.

3 Election of Lord Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Golton seconded by Councillor Blake, supported by Councillors Lamb, Elliott and Wilford and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That Councillor Judith Mara Chapman be elected Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold Office until immediately after the election of the Lord Mayor at the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2016.

The meeting was suspended to allow for Councillor Chapman to accept the Chain of Office and to take the Chair.

4 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor

Councillor Ogilvie moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor David Congreve. This was seconded by Councillor Castle and supported by Councillors Townsley, Elliott and A Blackburn.

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That a vote of thanks be moved for the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor David Congreve.

5 Election of Vice Chair of Council

It was moved by Councillor Campbell seconded by Councillor Blake and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That Councillor Townsley be appointed Vice Chairman of Council to hold Office until immediately after the election of the Lord Mayor at the Annual Meeting of Council in 2016.

6 Minutes

It was moved by Councillor Charlwood, seconded by Councillor G Latty and

RESOLVED – That the minutes of the meeting held on 1st April 2015 be approved subject to the addition of Councillor Flynn in the attendance.

7 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.

8 Announcements

The Lord Mayor passed on her thanks and best wishes to the retiring Leader of Council, Councillor Keith Wakefield

9 Election of Leader

It was moved by Councillor Charlwood seconded by Councillor Selby and

RESOLVED – That Councillor Judith Blake be elected Leader of the Council.

10 Recommendations of the General Purposes Committee - Amendments to the Constitution

It was moved by Councillor Wakefield seconded by Councillor Charlwood and

RESOLVED – That the recommendations of the General Purposes Committee with regard to amendments to the Constitution, as detailed in the report of the City Solicitor, be approved.

11 Establishment of Committees and Appointments

It was moved by Councillor Charlwood seconded by Councillor Selby and

RESOLVED –That Schedules 9(a)to(c) and Schedules 9(e)and(f) be approved and that the City Solicitor be authorised, in consultation with appropriate Whips, to change appointments made during the period between this meeting and the next ordinary meeting of Council

12 Appointment of Community Committee Chairs

It was moved by Councillor Charlwood, seconded by Councillor Selby that

(a) in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules that the appointment of the Chairs of the following Community Committees be determined by Full Council as a meeting of those Community Committees had not taken place.

Inner North East Community Committee Outer North East Community Committee Inner East Community Committee Outer East Community Committee Inner South Community Committee Inner West Community Committee

(b) in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules that the appointment of the Chairs of the following Community Committees be noted

Inner North West Community Committee Outer North West Community Committee Outer West Community Committee

RESOLVED -

- (a) That the Chairs of the 6 Community Committees above be appointed.
- (b) That the Chairs of the 3 Community Committees above be noted.

13 Appointment of Community Committee Chair - Outer South

It was moved by Councillor Charlwood, seconded by Councillor Selby, that in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules the appointment of the Chair of the Outer South Community Committee be determined by the overall

majority of votes cast by those Members of the Outer South Community Committee present at the Council meeting.

The 2 nominees were Councillor K Bruce and Councillor R Finnigan.

As an overall majority of votes could not be obtained by votes cast by those Members of the Community Committee present at the Council meeting, the vote was widened to include all Members of Council.

RESOLVED – That Councillor K Bruce be appointed Chair of the Outer South Community Committee

14 Scheme of Delegation (Council(Non-Executive) Functions)

It was moved by Councillor Charlwood seconded by Councillor Selby and

RESOLVED – That the Officer Delegation Scheme (Council (Non Executive) Functions) as detailed in Schedule 10 be approved.

15 Executive Arrangements

It was moved by Councillor Charlwood seconded by Councillor Selby and

RESOLVED – That the list presented by the Leader setting out the arrangements for the discharge of Executive Functions, as detailed in Schedule 11, be noted.

16 Council Meeting Dates 2015/2016

It was moved by Councillor Charlwood seconded by Councillor Selby and

RESOLVED – That the dates of the meetings of the Council for the Municipal Year 2015/16, as detailed in Schedule 12 be approved.

Council rose at 19.35